Blueberry muffins

LOL I actually started this post saying ‘exams are over’ but my exams haven’t even started. It’s just that my projects are over *party* but I have one exam to get through before I can declare the end of Y4S1 *end party* But I’m rly behaving like exams are over hoho because the last two weeks of school were crazy busy so it’s celebration time wheeee. Plus my one and only exam is for an elective module which I can S/U (but hopefully not) so I’m not that worried about it. There’s still time!

So I’ve been thinking hmm what to bake. And dum dum dummm I decided on these beauties

20151122_173644
Blueberry muffins

I’m a really slow baker because I take ages to measure out everything. But these were done in about an hour which is really quick for me (though the recipe did say it should be done in 30 mins but lol no way for me)! Also, with the exception of blueberries, the ingredients for these muffins are things that can usually be found in the kitchen so I was vv happy w this recipe. Sharing this recipe here so that I’ll be able to reference it if I happen to lose the link in future!


 

One-bowl Blueberry muffins

Recipe from inspired taste. Reproduced here verbatim.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups (195 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup (150 grams) granulated sugar, plus 1 tablespoon for muffin tops
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/3 cup (80 ml) neutral flavored oil; canola, vegetable and grape seed are great – I used olive oil because that was the only oil I had at home 
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup (80 ml – 120 ml) milk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 6 to 8 ounces fresh or frozen blueberries

Directions

Heat Oven and Prepare Muffin Cups
  1. Heat oven to 400º F. For big-topped muffins, line 8 standard-size muffin cups with paper liners and fill the remaining cups with 1 to 2 tablespoons of water to helps to make sure the muffins bake evenly. For standard-size muffins, line 12 standard-sized muffin cups with paper liners.
Prepare Muffin Batter
  1. Whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.
  2. Add vegetable oil to a measuring jug that holds at least 1 cup. Add the egg then fill the jug to the 1-cup line with milk (this should be 1/3 to a 1/2 cup of milk). Add vanilla and whisk until combined.
  3. Add milk mixture to the bowl with flour and sugar then use a fork to combine. Do not over mix. Add blueberries and use a spatula or spoon to gently fold the blueberries into the muffin batter.
Bake Muffins
  1. Bake blueberry muffins 15 to 20 minutes or until tops are no longer wet and a toothpick inserted into the middle of a muffin comes out with crumbs, not wet batter. Transfer muffins to a cooling rack and cool.

 

AND TADAAAHHH THE END PRODUCT THAT WAS INSTAGRAM-ED

Processed with VSCO with kk2 preset
is it the same as the above photo? yes i think quite possibly so. but vsco-fied

I love the fact that I don’t need to use the mixer for these muffins omg how easy can it get rly. The only troublesome thing was measuring out the ingredients. But. One. Bowl. So measuring out the ingredients is rly like ok I can deal w this.

I only shared a muffin w my sis at the time of writing, but I really liked what I ate so I rly think I might just make another batch tomorrow because I still have blueberries in the fridge hehe. Overkill? NAAHHHHH.

Blueberry muffins

2 thoughts on “Blueberry muffins

Leave a Reply

