Glazed Lemon Cookies

Over the weekend, my mum mentioned casually that we had a lot of lemons in the refrigerator for some reason. So obviously the bell in my head went ‘ding ding ding’ and I decided to bake something lemony. Partly because I like lemons, my parents like lemons, my sister likes lemons, and I was kinda bored of baking the same things over and over again. Plus I’ve been kinda inspired seeing friends posting their culinary adventures online so I decided to venture slightly out of my comfort zone of chocolate chip cookies.

Seriously tho, my family cannot live w/o chocolate chips I suspect. Like I tried baking lemon cupcakes and vanilla cupcakes but they were all like ‘Why are there no chocolate chips inside this?!’ So I relented and added chocolate chips to it. Anyway, that’s not the point.

The point is I decided to make Glazed Lemon Cookies because I stumbled onto a few recipes recently and they looked easy to make. That’s kinda like my criteria – the ingredients should be easy to obtain and it should be rather easy to make. Preferable one-bowl-only kinda easy HAHA. Because yes I am that lazy.

Sharing the recipe here because even tho those who read my blog don’t bake, it was really quite the yummy recipe and I’m worried I’d lose it so it’s best that it’s archived on my blog for future reference.


Original recipe taken from Two Peas and Their Pod, reproduced here. 

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons lemon zest
  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2 – 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice (changed from the original recipe so that I could drizzle the glaze on rather than dip the cookies in)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

  2. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl. Whisk and set aside.

  3. In a small bowl, add granulated sugar and lemon zest. Rub the sugar and lemon zest together with your fingers, until fragrant.

  4. Beat butter and sugar/lemon mixture together until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla extract. Mix until smooth.

  5. Slowly beat in flour mixture on low speed until blended. Drop dough by tablespoon onto prepared baking sheets, spacing 2 inches apart. Gently flatten dough with the palm of your hand.

  6. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until cookies are just set and slightly golden brown. Cool cookies on baking sheet for 2 minutes and transfer to cooking racks. Cool completely.

  7. In a medium bowl, whisk together powdered sugar and lemon juice. Pour the mixture into a resealable bag and cut the corner. Drizzle the mixture onto the cooled cookies and let the glaze set.


Super easy recipe I LOVE IT. And the cookies came out really prettily too:

Glazed lemon cookies
Glazed lemon cookies

I found that the glaze went really well with the cookies – in fact, the cookies didn’t really have a lemony taste to it when eaten just plain. Definitely required the glaze for the extra zing. Plus the glaze was yummy – sweet and tart (how is that possible). I really love lemon desserts (as long as they’re not too sour heh) and these cookies fit the bill quite well. TBH I’m not exactly certain if it’s just the glaze I love… But they do go well with each other 😀 PJ and my family all enjoyed it so yay. The best thing about baking is that it’s shared w the people I love 😀

Glazed Lemon Cookies

Leave a Reply

